Samsung Researcher Named Chair of ATSC Standards Technology Group

Samsung Electronics is pleased to share that Dr. Paul Hearty, Samsung Research America, has been appointed as Chair of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) Technology Group 3. This appointment reflects Samsung’s leadership and commitment in broadcast research and development, as well as its position as the leading manufacturer of advanced television receivers.

Technology Group 3 is responsible for all technical aspects of ATSC 3.0 (also known as NEXTGENTV), which currently is in deployment in Korea, the US, and Jamaica. It has been selected for use in Trinidad and Tobago and many elements have been selected for standardization by the SBTVD Forum in Brazil. In the US, ATSC 3.0 currently is being broadcast in 77 markets, reaching about 75% of the population.

ATSC is an international, non-profit industry organization with more than 140 member companies and organizations representing the broadcast, broadcast equipment, motion picture, consumer electronics, computer, cable, satellite, and semiconductor industries. ATSC is defining the future of television with the ATSC 3.0 next-generation broadcast standard. Its Mission is to create and foster implementation of Standards and Recommended Practices to advance terrestrial digital television broadcasting, and to facilitate interoperability with other media.

Dr. Paul Hearty is Chief Standards Strategist in Samsung Research America’s Visual Solution Lab. In that role, he leads Samsung’s work in developing technical standards in ATSC, the Consumer Technology Association (CTA), the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE), and other organizations. He also leads Samsung’s coordination with US broadcasters and others on technical and other matters related to standardization, operations and business.

In addition to his new appointment as Chair of ATSC TG3, Paul also serves as a member of the ATSC’s Board of Directors. He holds leadership positions in multiple standards groups in ATSC, CTA, and SCTE. Paul is Vice-chair of CTA’s R4 Audio and Video Systems Committee and is a founder of CTA’s Web Application Video Ecosystem (WAVE) committee, which develops specifications to promote interoperability in Internet video applications. He is former chair and a current member of the WAVE Steering Committee, and chairs its Technical Working Group. He is Vice Chair of SCTE’s Engineering Committee, which is responsible for SCTE’s standards, and chairs its Digital Video Subcommittee. He is a former member of the Executive Committee and Board of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE).

Paul was a key player in the development and standardization of ATSC 1.0, the first digital terrestrial broadcast system, and is a leader in the development and standardization of ATSC 3.0. He is a Fellow of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers. He has been awarded one Technical Emmy and has been recognized for his contributions to four others.

To learn more about ATSC, please visit